Thursday, April 29, 2010

New CFSAC Members Announced

I just visited the blog My Life As I "StandUp2ME" and found this list of new CFSAC members (thanks for posting it!):

NEW CFSAC Committee Members:

Dane B. Cook, PhD
Madison, WI
Term: 05/10/10 to 05/10/14 (new)

Eileen Holderman
Galveston, TX
Term: 05/10/10 to 05/10/14 (new)

Michael Houghton, PhD
Danville, CA
Term: 05/10/10 to 05/10/14 (new)

Susan M. Levine, MD
New York, NY
Term: 05/10/10 to 05/10/14 (new)

Gailen Marshall Jr., MD, PhD
Jackson, MS
Term: 05/10/10 to 05/10/14 (new)

I'm excited - Dr. Susan Levine is the Infectious Disease specialist I see in NYC, the one who prescribes low-dose naltrexone for me!  She's a great choice - she's been specializing in CFS for many years, and, as an Infectious Disease specialist, she is perfectly suited to understand and analyze all the new research done recently and still to come on how infections relate to CFS.  I'm not familiar with the other names on the list, but if they're as well-qualified as Dr. Levine, then I'm happy!  Anyone else know the other names on the list?

(NOTE:  The CFSAC is the CFS Advisory Committee, the overseeing committee for CFS within the US government, working directly with the CDC and NIH.  Their next meeting is May 10 in Washington.  I submitted testimony to be read at the meeting, but I haven't heard back yet).

1 comment:

  1. Good news about Dr. Levine. I was surprised that I didn't recognize any of the other names. But maybe new thinkers is what we need.